Prizes

The Divinity School awards a number of prizes for specific student achievements.

- 1. The Milo P. Jewett Prize is awarded annually in the spring quarter "to that member of the student body of the Divinity School who shall be pronounced by competent judges to have submitted the best-written paper translating, interpreting, or applying to a contemporary situation the Holy Scriptures, or a passage therefrom, regard being had to the most effective expression to the meaning and spirit of the sacred text." In recent years, the money has also funded travel for research by advanced students concentrating in Bible. Recent winners of the Jewett Prize include:
 - 2014 Steven Michael Grafton Philp
 - 2013 Kelly Anne Gardner
 - 2012 Jordan Skornik
- The John Gray Rhind Award has been presented annually since 1979 to an advanced student in the ministry program at the Divinity School whose excellence in academic and professional training gives notable promise of a significant contribution to the life of the church. Recent winners of the Rhind Award include:
 - 2019 Sarah Lusche and Sara Lytle
 - 2018 Lucas Allgeyer
 - 2017 Saeed Richardson
 - 2016 Marcus Christian Lohrman
- 3. The Susan Colver-Rosenberger Educational Prize is awarded annually in rotation to a Ph.D. student in education, theology, or sociology. The object of the prize is to stimulate constructive study and original research and to develop practical ideas for the improvement of educational objectives and methods or for the promotion of human welfare. The most recent Divinity School graduates to receive the Colver-Rosenberger Prize:
 - 2019 Russell Johnson
- 4. The J. Coert Rylaarsdam Prize is awarded annually to reward a deserving Divinity School student who has made special efforts to promote interfaith relations with particular reference to the Christian, Jewish, and Muslim traditions. These efforts may be curricular or extracurricular. Recent winners of the Rylaarsdam Prize include:
 - 2019 Caroline Anglim
 - 2018 Yitzhak Bronstein and Dahlia Herzog
 - 2012 Rachel Graaf Leslie
 - 2011 Devin O'Rourke
- 5. The Tikva Frymer-Kensky Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the student who has written the most accomplished essay integrating the materials and insights of at least two of the fields to which Professor Frymer-Kensky's own scholarship contributed: Hebrew Bible, biblical law, ancient Near Eastern studies, and ritual and/or feminist theology.
- 2019 David Ridge, for an essay entitled, "The Reversal of Job's Fortunes and the Limits of Human Knowledge" and Hannah Gene Kessler Jones, for an essay entitled, "Disgrace in Israel: Narrative Ambiguity and Patriarchal Anxiety in the Ancient Reception of Genesis 34".
- 2018 Sun Bok Bae
- 2013 and 2014 Liane Marquis
- 2012 Jessica Andruss
- 2010 Matthijs Den Dulk

6. The Divinity School Prize for Excellence in Teaching is to recognize and encourage the superior preparation of our doctoral students for careers in teaching. This award is given annually on the basis of self-nomination and the evaluation of a candidate's teaching portfolio.

- 2019 Cathleen Chopra-McGown, Kelli Gardner, Elizabeth Sartell, and Yonatan Shemesh
- 2018 Emily Crews, Aaron Hollander, Russell Johnson
- 2017 Katherine Mershon and Michael LeChevallier

7. The Noyes Cutter Prize 2019 was awarded to Christine Trotter, for an essay entitled, "A New Reading of 1 Thessalonians 4:9-12 Based on its Context of Consolation"

